South Park Spent Decades Roasting Everyone. Now It’s Just ‘Orange Man Bad’
Judge: 'Heinous and Outrageous' — Rich 8th Graders Charged After Brutal Filmed Assault...
IMPEACH! TDS Media Reports Trump's Generous With Holiday Bonuses for Staff (Out of...
Prosecutor: No Threats, No Obsession — Acton Fair ‘Attack’ Suspect Just Wanted to...
It's Come to THIS? Frustrated Clancy Juror Explains What the Lone Holdout Just...
Atty Forgets to Click Off Gun Safety in Botched Ambush of Ex-Wife —...
Dem Senator Says Nobody in Her Party Wants Taxpayer-Funded Care for Illegals (Then...
Do-Gooder Professor Heroically Defends Her Cheap Illegal Gardener After ICE Rightfully Arr...
They Laughed When Conservatives Said They’d Come for Your Gas Stove ... San...
Pols of Privilege: Victor Davis Hanson Says Socialists in the Spotlight Owe Everything...
Female Lindsay Clancy Murder Trial Jurors Say Defense Attorney Was Funny and Entertaining...
Ashen Passion: Adam Carolla Shocked to Learn Anti-White Dems of Color Are Hooking...
Video Lets Us Experience Lindsay Clancy Trial Deliberations From Vantage Point of ‘Lone...
Hope Walz Says Republicans' Obsession With Old State Flag Is Like a Racist...
Appeals Court Says Administration's Argument to Allow the IRS to Share Data With...

#RestoreTheBlock: Twitter's change to block function causes concern, confusion; Twitter reverses

A change to Twitter’s “block” function is creating a lot of chatter today. Of concern is that Twitter’s Block button now acts more like a “mute” button. Mashable explains:

Advertisement

Previously, the service allowed you to block any troublesome follower, denying them access to your tweets. Now, in an about-face, the process of blocking simply mutes the user in question, meaning you can’t see their tweets. But they can retweet you, allowing their followers to contact you in turn.

Twitter’s support page elaborates:

Note: If your account is public, blocking a user does not prevent that user from following you, interacting with your Tweets, or receiving your updates in their timeline. If your Tweets are protected, blocking the user will cause them to unfollow you.

In other words, a user you have blocked can still see and retweet your tweets to his or her followers.

Advertisement

No, you can’t have both — at least not today.

https://twitter.com/rougeandbooks/status/411318964812140544

https://twitter.com/vorrai/status/411319238570164224

The #RestoreTheBlock hashtag is taking off.

https://twitter.com/warrenellis/status/411306584590262272

https://twitter.com/mattyglesias/status/411317622807220224

Advertisement

https://twitter.com/sadowski23/status/411322444675174401

https://twitter.com/tcarmody/status/411324259865460736

https://twitter.com/chrisgrant/status/411324941997735936

Will Twitter reconsider in the face of this backlash? Or is mute the new block?

* * *

Update:

That didn’t take long. Twitter has announced that it will restore the block function.

 

Join the conversation as a VIP Member

Recommended

Trending on Twitchy Videos

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement