At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules.—
Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 13, 2013
As Twitchy reported earlier, the Twitterverse was buzzing about Tiger Woods Saturday morning. Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty, but was not disqualified for his drop at hole 15 at the Masters on Friday.
Woods took to Twitter to explain his take on what happened.
Twitchy readers weigh in:
Here’s the statement from Fred Ridley, Augusta’s competition committee chairman.
Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods at the 15th hole.
In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.
After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.
The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two-stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.
But do we really want to hear from Tiger and the rules committee? Or do we want to hear from José Canseco?
There it is.